11.08.19 | 22:00 h

"Our thoughts are free"(Ciceró, Pro Milone 29, 79)

Camerata Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Camerata Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Camerata Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra



Boccherini: Quintet in D major for two violins, viola, cello and double bass, Op. 39 no. 3, G. 339 / Schubert: Octet in F major, Op. 166, D. 803

The quintet is the chamber formation most associated with Boccherini, an Italian composer established in Spain as court musician in the service first of the Infante Don Luis and then of Charles II. Boccherini wrote a large number of quintets, but the combination of strings and double bass is the distinctive feature of the work we will hear performed tonight by the Camerata Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. In the second part of the concert they will perform Schubert’s Octet, a work of mysterious beauty and a composition of fundamental importance in the chamber music repertory.


Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies Learn more